Louisiana Baptists honored for years of service

By Staff, Baptist Message

ALEXANDRIA – Twenty-one Louisiana Southern Baptists recently received awards for five or more years of self-funded missionary service.

Theme for the Jan. 13 appreciation banquet for the self-funded missionaries was “renewing our focus as missionaries.”

The Mission Service Corps (MSC) missionaries who received service awards for consecutive years of service – five or more – include:

 Jim and Ivy Wyble

Baptist Builders – 5 years

Barbara and Michael Kopp

Church Strengtheners/

Truck Stop Ministry – 5 years

Jerry and Sherry Haws

 Church Renewal – 5 years

Bill and Joyce Temple

Baptist Builders – 7 years

Steve and Susan Hayes

Baptist Builders – 8 years

Ben and Cherry Blackwell 

Lagniappe Sports Hospitality Ministry

9 years

Michael & Karen Sammons

 Ray of Hope Ministry

9 years

Charles & Gloria Thompson

Church Strengtheners

9 years

Modie Phillips

Helping Hands Ministry – 15 years

David Fox

Prison Chaplain – 15 years

Marie Towell

 Breadcrumb Baptist Center – 20 years

Hazel Chapman

 Breadcrumb Baptist Center – 20 years

Jennie White

 Breadcrumb Baptist Center –  20 years

Mission Service Corps missionaries are commissioned by their local church and endorsed by the North American Mission Board for service as self-funded missionaries who serve at least 20 hours a week for a minimum of two years.

John Hebert is director of the LBC missions and ministry team. Julia Parker is MSC coordinator. For more information on being a self-funded MSC missionary, email Parker at julia.parker@lbc.org.